Gypsy Swing with a French Twist

About us

Band - Collage 2Welcome to “Belle Affaire”, a jazz ensemble around Werner Dorfmeister based in Vienna which is stilistically orientated but not strictly confined to the Music of Django Reinhardts Hot Club.

The music of our choice is a vibrant blend of swinging tunes from the 1920s to 1940s covering a wide range from Gypsy Swing to Jazz Standards and swinging Chansons. The songs are served with infectious Gypsy style rhythm and partly french lyrics.

We replaced the drums with a rhythm guitar which is played using the distinct percussive Gypsy Jazz strumming technique known as “la pompe”. Together with the bass it provides the rhythmic drive behind the music and gives it its fast swinging feel facilitating lead guitar, clarinet and vocals. We love the natural twangling, clinking and twinkling of our instruments, so we aim for an acoustic sound even when playing amplified. Our all-acoustic setup and versatility allows us to perform at small private happenings providing instrumental background music as well as at snappy¬† events dragging along the¬† audience with exciting high-energy musical enjoyment derived from a musical journey of Le Hot Clu b De France through Parisian cafes and Gypsy campfires.

Our setup comprises of vocals, two guitars, clarinet/saxophon and upright bass. Depending on the occasion we are also offering an instrumental variation of our repertoire as a trio or quartet.

  • Marlies Fuchs – vocals
  • Julian Wohlmuth – guitar
  • Julian Eggenhofer – guitar
  • Helmut Strobl – clarinet / saxophon
  • Werner Dorfmeister – upright bass

Any Swing goes – see you somewhere soon!

 



Theme by Ali Han | Copyright 2016 Belle Affaire | Powered by WordPress

Gypsy Swing with a French Twist

Über Uns

Band - Collage 2

Willkommen bei “Belle Affaire”, einem Jazz Ensemble rund um Werner Dorfmeister, das sich stilistisch an der Musik von Django Reinhardt’s Hot Club orientiert, aber nicht darauf beschränkt.

Unser Repertoire ist eine lebhaft swingende Auswahl von Titeln der 1920er bis 1940er Jahre und reicht von Gypsy Swing über Jazz Standards bis zu Chanson. Die Titel werden in ansteckendem Gypsy-Stil und teilweise mit französischen Texten serviert.

Das Schlagzeug haben wir durch eine Rhythmusgitarre ersetzt. Sie wird mit der typischen Gypsy Jazz Technik “la pompe” gespielt und bildet zusammen mit dem Bass den rhythmischen “Drive” und das swingende Fundament für Lead-Gitarre, Klarinette  und Gesang. Wir lieben den Klang unserer Instrumente – daher achten wir sehr auf einen akustischen Sound (auch wenn wir aufgrund der Größe der Veranstaltung verstärkt spielen müssen). Dadurch können wir für verschiedenste Anlässe die “passende” Intensität finden – sei es bei Vernissagen oder in Bars und Cafes Hintergrundmusik machen oder bei Tanzveranstaltungen für wippende Beine sorgen.

Unsere Standardbesetzung besteht aus Gesang, zwei Gitarren, Klarinette/Saxophon und Kontrabass. Je nach Veranstaltung bieten wir gerne auch ein ausschließlich instrumentales Repertoire als Trio oder Quartett.

  • Marlies Fuchs – Gesang
  • Julian Wohlmuth – Gitarre
  • Julian Eggenhofer – Gitarre
  • Helmut Strobl – Klarinette / Saxophon
  • Werner Dorfmeister – Kontrabass

Any Swing goes – wir sehen uns sicher irgendwo!



Theme by Ali Han | Copyright 2017 Belle Affaire | Powered by WordPress